Transportation Disadvantaged (TD) Paratransit Services
Space Coast Area Transit operates Transportation Disadvantaged (TD) Paratransit Service to serve the mobility needs of Brevard County citizens who are unable to use Fixed Route Bus or Trolley Service. TD Paratransit Service uses wheelchair accessible Paratransit vehicles to transport passengers throughout Brevard County on a daily basis. TD Paratransit Service is a point-of-origin to point-of-destination service, accessed through a trip reservation, from 7:00 AM–8:00 PM. The intent of TD Paratransit Service is to ensure that individuals who are transportation disadvantaged have equal access to public transportation. View the Rider’s Guide for Special Services, a public transportation rider’s guide for eligible seniors and transportation disadvantaged, including origin to destination TD Paratransit Service and ADA Paratransit Service
TD PARATRANSIT OVERVIEW
Space Coast Area Transit provides wheelchair accessible Fixed Route Bus and Trolley Service in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. This has allowed some individuals with disabilities to use the Fixed Route Bus and Trolley Service instead of TD Paratransit Service. All Space Coast Area Transit Buses are wheelchair accessible.
• If an individual is unable to utilize Fixed Route Service, TD Paratransit Service is available throughout Brevard County.
• Individuals can call before 2:00 PM the day before a ride is needed to request a trip. Trips can be requested up to 7 days in advance.
• Trips that occur on the same day and time each week on a regular basis do not need to be reserved each time.
• Trips can be requested for any purpose.
TD PARATRANSIT ELIGIBILITY
Those eligible for TD Paratransit Service include individuals who are defined in Florida Statute 427.001 as: “Those persons who because of physical or mental disability, income, status, or age, or who for other reasons are unable to transport themselves or to purchase transportation and are, therefore, dependent upon others to obtain access to health care, employment, education, shopping, social activities, or other sustaining activities, or children who are disabled or high risk, as defined in F.S. 411.202.”
TD PARATRANSIT REGISTRATION
The Florida Commission for TD and Florida Statutes 427.0155(7) requires a formal eligibility process to verify eligibility for TD transportation. Complete/submit the TD Application online and upload your required documents electronically at 321Transit.com/TDapply, or, complete and submit the TD Application with required documents manually at 321Transit.com/TDCertification. The application process takes up to 21 days to be approved once it is received by Space Coast Area Transit. If an individual’s application is denied, they can fill out the Paratransit Eligibility Appeal Form at 321Transit.com/AppealForm.
TD PARATRANSIT FARES AND PAYMENT OPTIONS
A new mobile ticketing system powered by Token Transit at 321Transit.com/Pass sends both a $1.50 TD Paratransit 1-Ride Fare or a $15.00 TD Paratransit 10-Ride Pass directly and instantly to a smartphone. Payment with a credit or debit card is required. Otherwise, a 1-Ride Fare is paid when boarding. Exact change is required as the driver is not equipped to make change. There is no charge for 1 personal care attendant (PCA), however, companions must pay their own fare.Children 15 and under are free when accompanied by a fare paying passenger.
A 10-Ride Pass must be purchased in advance. In addition to Token Transit, 10-Ride Pass purchase options include: In person at Space Coast Area Transit, 401 S. Varr Ave., Cocoa, Florida, 32922, or 460 S. Harbor City Blvd., Melbourne, Florida, 32901; By mail to either address listed above, checks up to $100.00, money orders, or credit cards are accepted; By phone at 321-635-7815, option 2 or 321-952-4561, option 1 with a Visa, MasterCard, or Discover Card; and Online at 321Transit.com/BuyPass with a 5-day mail delivery.
SERVICE ANIMALS AND PETS, COMPANIONS, PERSONAL CARE ATTENDANTS (PCAs), CHILDREN AND VISITORS
Space Coast Area Transit allows TD Paratransit and ADA Paratransit riders to travel with one personal care attendant (PCA), and up to two additional companions for a total of 4 passengers per trip. Example: a rider, a PCA, and up to two companions. Service animals are not included in the passenger count.
SERVICE ANIMALS AND NON-SERVICE ANIMALS (PETS)
Service animals are always welcome on any Space Coast Area Transit Vehicle. However, in keeping with best safety practices, emotional/ therapy animals and other pets are not permitted.
The Department of Transportation ADA regulations, 49 CFR Section 37.3, defines a service animal as any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal individually trained to work or perform tasks for an individual with a disability, including, but not limited to, guiding individuals with impaired vision, alerting individuals with impaired hearing to intruders or sounds, providing minimal protection or rescue work, pulling a wheelchair, or fetching dropped items. Regulation 49 C.F.R. Section 37.167(d) requires transit entities to permit service animals to accompany individuals with disabilities in vehicles and facilities.
COMPANIONS AND PERSONAL CARE ATTENDANTS
Riders must reserve space for their PCA and companion(s) when they reserve their trip. Up to two additional companions are allowed per trip on a space available basis.
A PCA is a person accompanying an ADA Paratransit rider to assist with their travel needs. ADA riders are allowed 1 PCA that rides free; companions are allowed, however, they must pay their own fare, unless they are 15 years old, or younger. Activities performed by a PCA may include but are not limited to: mobility assistance, personal care, or communication (translation, interpretation, reading) and assistance at the destination. Space Coast Area Transit does not provide a PCA for riders. If a rider cannot be left alone at a destination or must be under constant care or supervision, Space Coast Area Transit may request (but not require) that the rider travel with a PCA.
A PCA or companion must board the vehicle at the rider’s scheduled location and time of pickup and ride together.
Children 15 years old, or younger, ride for free when accompanied by a fare-paying passenger. According to state law newborns up to 5 year olds must ride in a federally approved child safety seat according to state law. Child safety seats must be provided by the rider.
Space Coast Area Transit provides complementary visitor Paratransit Service to individuals who travel to Brevard County and are eligible for services under ADA. An individual’s certification by a public entity as “ADA Paratransit eligible” will be honored for up to 21 days. The ADA Paratransit certification document must be submitted in advance using one of the following methods: by email, info@321Transit.com; by fax, 321-635-1903; sent by mail; or presented in person at either Space Coast Area Transit Terminal, 401 S. Varr Ave., Cocoa Florida, 32922 or 460 South Harbor City Blvd., Melbourne, FL 32901. If a visitor requires Paratransit Service beyond 21 days during any
For questions regarding TD Paratransit Service eligibility, application assistance, information on the appeals process, or reservations, call the Rideline at 321-633-1878 to speak with a TD Paratransit representative or email info@321Transit.com.